The Certified Management Consultant (CMC) qualification can be awarded only by national professional bodies, usually an institute of management consultants, which are full members of the ICMCI. (A list of current full members of the ICMCI is shown here). These bodies are regularly assessed by the ICMCI to ensure that they and their CMC assessment processes meet defined standards.

The standards are available here. They have been updated in 2013 so as to comply with the relevant ISO and other standards.

Post-nominal initials

Consultants who have been awarded the CMC can put these initials after their name. In some countries, the ICMCI member institute may use the designations FIMC to signify a Fellow of that Institute of Management Consultants. The initials FCMC therefore designate a Certified Management Consultant who is also a Fellow of his or her institute.

CMC Emeritus

ICMCI member institutes are allowed to authorise the CMCs of their institute who cease professional activity (whether by moving into another field of activity or by retirement) to continue to use the designation “CMC emeritus” after their names. The requirements for this are shown in the Certification Scheme Manual.

Benefits of becoming a CMC
The CMC logo
The CMC pin
Number of CMC members

  • The Chair Update March 2020

    March 13, 2020

      Dear Colleagues, These are turbulent times. On behalf of the Board of ICMCI, I am writing to wish you well as you and your members deal with the uncertainty of the global spread of COVID-19. On March 11, the World Health Organization declared a global pandemic. This step is...

Read More »
  • 2019 ICMCI Asia Pacific Hub Meeting

      2019 ICMCI Asia Pacific Hub Meeting Invitation  All Japan Federation of Management Organizations is pleased to announce  the 2019 Asia Pacific Hub Meeting to be...
Read More »

Subscribe to Our Newsletter